LABOUR gained a historic victory in the Warrington Borough Council elections, strengthening their grip on the council and, in doing so, winning for the first time ever in the Liberal Democrat stronghold of Stockton Heath and also defeating the Conservative leader.
They won 15 seats, with the Lib Dems and Conservatives only picking up two each.
Probably the most dramatic victory was that of Chris Vobe - son of Warrington North MP Helen Jones - over long-serving Conservative leader Keith Bland at Culcheth, Glazebury and Croft.
A delighted Chris put down his success to a lot of hard work campaigning on local issues.
Former Tory leader Keith described the result as a "real kick in the teeth" blaming his defeat on the national scene and the fact Labour had the full backing of the local MP and Labour part band wagon.
At Westbrook, Lib Dem David Earl  lost his seat to Labour's Judith Guthrie while at Whittle Hall, Kevin Reynolds  lost out to Labour's Will Hughes
And there were many indications that the Lib Dems were taking a battering. At Fairfield and Howley, where Labour's Kevin Bennett  comfortably held his seat, the Lib Dems  trailed third behind the Green Party, as they did at Rixton and Woolston.
Lib Dem leader Ian Marks described the results as "bitterly disappointing" and a reflection of the national scene. He also raised concerns at the poor turn outs, which in some inner areas of Warrington were only 17 per cent. The largest turn outs were in Culcheth and Stockton Heath, averaging just over 30 per cent.
Leader of the council Terry O'Neill and his deputy Mike Hannon both held on to their seats at Burtonwood and Winwick and Orford respectively.  But there were some indications that with a low turn-out, all sides were polling fewer votes than they did last year.
At Hatton, Conservative Paul Kennedy  convincingly held his seat with the Liberal Democrats, who had held the ward for years, coming third, behind Labour.
But Tory finance spokesman Paul Campbell lost his seat to Labour at Penketh and Cuerdley.
At Grappenhall and Thelwall, the popular former Liberal Democrat councillor Ted Finnegan - who lost his seat last year when he was due to become Mayor - showed that a personal following can still win through when he held the seat against strong challenges from both Labour and Conservatives.
All in all, the Warrington results  followed the same pattern as those across the rest of the country.
To see video interviews with the winners and losers CLICK HERE

Top picture: Labour's Chris Vobe celebrates his victory with his MP mother Helen Jones and other supporters. Lower picture: Labour leader Terry O'Neill, deputy leader Mike Hannon, with Cllr Steve Wright (left) and Laurence Murphy (second from right) who won the historic victory at Stockton Heath.

The final results were:

 Brian Axcell* (Lib Dem) 1660
 Paul Carter (Lab) 453
 Phil Marshall (Cons) 1067

Bewsey & Whitecross
 Jeff Richards* (Lab) 1478
 Judith Wheeler (Lib Dem). 309

 Nigel Balding (Cons) 633
 Charlie Hulse (Lib Dem) 157
 Pauline Nelson* (Lab) 1663

Burtonwood & Winwick
Stefan Krizanac (Lib Dem) 89
Terry O'Neill* (Lab) 1241
June Rios (Cons) 316

Culcheth, Glazebury & Croft
 Keith Bland* (Cons) 1305
 Merril Cummerson (Lib Dem) 264
Chris Vobe (Lab). 2134
Labour gain from Cons

Fairfield & Howley
 Kevin Bennett* (Lab) 1505
 Nicola Brent (Lib Dem) 220
 Lyndsay McAteer (Green) 245

Grappenhall & Thelwall
 Roger Cawthorne (Cons) 615
 Ted Finnegan (Lib Dem) 1191
 Mark Littler (Lab) 622
 Michael Smith (Green) 94
 Richard Vaughan (UKIP) 168

Great Sankey South
 Sam Baxter (Cons) 370
 Roy Smith (Lib Dem) 343
 Tony Williams (Lab) 1507

Hatton, Stretton & Walton
 Dave Hockenhull (Lib Dem), 145
Paul Kennedy* (Cons) 533
 John Park (Lab). 197

 James Ashington (UKIP) 395
Graham Gowland (Lib Dems) 591
 Su Williams (Lab) 1195
Sheila Woodyatt* (Cons) 1458

 John Davies (Lib Dem) 206
 Mike Hannon* (Lab). 1517

Penketh & Cuerdley
Paul Campbell* (Cons) 824
Allin Dirir (Lab) 1603
Tim Price (Lib Dem) 97
Labour gain from Cons

Poplars & Hulme
 Helena Campbell (Cons) 195
 Iona Gillis (Lib Dem) 144
 Brian Maher* (Lab) 1312.

Poulton North
 Sandra Bradshaw*(Lib Dem) 802
 Mark Chapman (Cons) 241
 Billy Lines-Rowlands (Lab) 1226
Labour gain from Lib Dem

Poulton South
 Jeff Butler (Lib Dem) 262
 Colin Froggatt*(Lab) 1109
Eveline Van Der Steen (Green) 132

Rixton & Woolston
 Diana Grylls (Lib Dem) 90
 Lilian Houghton (Cons) 426
 Ross Lloyd (Green) 208
 Tony McCarthy*(Lab) 1446

Stockton Heath
 Laurence Murphy (Lab) 664
 Ann Raymond (Lib Dem) 434
Stephen Taylor (Cons) 605
 Kenneth Wilson (Green) 140
Lab gain from Lib Dem

 David Earl* (LibDem) 507
 Michael Foxall (Cons) 183
 Judith Guthrie (Lab) 674
Labour gain from Lib Dem

Whittle Hall
 Stephanie Davies (Green) 126
 Will Hughes (Lab) 1119
 Jonathan Levy (Cons) 361
 Kevin Reynolds* (Lib Dem).865
Labour gain from Lib Dem

*denotes sitting councillor.