PLANNING chiefs have given the go-ahead for the reconstruction, extension and modernisation of the popular Sanctuary Café attached to Lymm United Reform Church.
The scheme will include a Juliet balcony overlooking the picturesque Bridgewater Canal.
But it will also aim to make people more aware of the Sanctuary café’s existence.
Currently, it is partially hidden between the church and Lymm Library – both of which are locally listed buildings.
Lymm United Reform Church dates from 1863 but the building to be modernised, which also serves as a church hall and bookshop, was added in the 1960s.
The proposals will slightly increase the footprint of the building and reconfigure its layout – described by planners as having some undesirable internal layouts, dark internal spaces and unusually proportioned rooms which make the functioning of the café and the church awkward.
“Kitchen space is small and storage space is not sufficient, as all the equipment essential for keeping the café running is allocated in almost every single room, which is very inconvenient and somewhat disorganised.”
The modernised building will have a larger kitchen and also improve the current entrance to the church.
A number of poor quality trees will have to be removed from the site but the existing car park will remain unchanged.
Warrington Borough Council planning officers say the proposals will result in an improvement of the built form of the hall, enhance the appearance of the church and the library and bring benefits to users of both the church and the café.