Warrington-Worldwide.co.uk incorporates the Village Life, Culcheth Life, Frodsham Life & Lymm Life magazines.

Wolves see off Wigan in grudge clash


Pictures Eddie Whitham

WARRINGTON Wolves continued their impressive start to the season by beating Wigan 25-12 in a classic derby game.

Steve Price made just one change to his Warrington outfit that beat Castleford Tigers last week. Ryan Atkins came in for the injured Bryson Goodwin.

Wigan coach Adrian Lam made six changes to his Warriors side that lost to Huddersfield Giants last time out. Tom Davies, Dan Sarginson, Jarrod Sammut, Romain Navarrete, Joe Greenwood, Ollie Partington and Jake Shorrocks replaced Dom Manfredi, Chris Hankinson, Liam Marshall, Sam Powell, Liam Paisley, Ben Flower and Taulima Tautai.

Jake Mamo got his third try in two games as he acrobatically went over early doors, before Ben Currie was denied a try by a fantastic effort in defence by Zak Hardaker to hold him up.

The Wolves extended their lead on the half hour mark as Currie got a sublime ball away to Rachford who scored. The latter added a penalty goal late in the half to give the hosts a 12-0 lead at the break.

Josh Charnley extended Warrington’s lead after the break, and Wigan were dealt a blow when centre Dan Sarginson was sin-binned in the 50th minute for a high shot on Atkins.

Wigan hit back on the hour through Davies after a nice kick through from Shorrocks. They scored another just a couple of minutes later through Willie Isa.

Warrington regained their composure though and Declan Patton notched a drop-goal in the 67th minute.

Tempers flared in the latter stages of the game and Isa was sin-binned for a dangerous challenge on Patton, while the latter also received a yellow card for retaliating to Isa’s tackle. Ben Westwood was then sent-off for throwing a punch in the melee.

Jack Hughes powered over for Warrington in the final minute and sealed a 25-12 win for his side.

Warrington: Ratchford, Charnley, King, Atkins, Mamo, Austin, Patton, Hill, D Clark, Cooper, Currie, Hughes, Westwood. Subs: Murdoch-Masila, J Clark, Tasi, Philbin.

Wigan: Hardaker, Davies, Sarginson, Gildart, Escare, Williams, Sammut, Clubb, Leuluai, Navarrete, Greenwood, Isa, O’Loughlin. Subs: Hamlin, Bullock, Partington, Shorrocks.


About Author

Journalist and sport content specialist, who is also editor of Love Rugby League. Formerly ran the official website of the Carling Cup, as well as operating a digital services business in Warrington.

Leave A Comment