Warrington-Worldwide.co.uk incorporates the Village Life, Culcheth Life, Frodsham Life & Lymm Life magazines.

Warrington Town kick-off pre-season campaign

0

WARRINGTON Town will kick-off preparations for the 2020/21 season with a friendly away at Skelmersdale United today (Saturday).

It is 158 days since the Yellows were last in action, a dramatic 3-2 league win over Matlock Town where left-back Tom Warren scored an injury-time winner to complete a comeback from 2-0 down.

The subsequent cancellation of the season has left them out of action since, but they plan to play eight pre-season friendlies ahead of the Northern Premier League’s scheduled start to the season, currently Saturday September 19.

Unfortunately, all friendlies will be played behind closed doors due to the Government’s coronavirus guidelines.

Today would have been the first league game of the season but for the pandemic.

The Yellows will play a home friendly against Craig Robinson’s City of Liverpool on Friday August 28, before welcoming National League North sides Southport and AFC Fylde as they gear up to start the league campaign.

A number of trialists are expected to feature against Skelmersdale, with boss Paul Carden yet to sign a goalkeeper to replace Tony McMillan, who departed the club for a coaching role higher up the football pyramid in the summer.

List of fixtures:

  • Sat 15 Aug – Skelmersdale United (A)
  • Tue 18 Aug – Irlam (A)
  • Sat 22 Aug – Runcorn Town (A)
  • Mon 24 Aug – Lower Breck (A)
  • Fri 28 Aug – City of Liverpool (H)
  • Tue 1 Sep – Southport (H)
  • Fri 4 Sep – Salford U23s (A)
  • Sat 12 Sep – AFC Fylde (H)
Share.

About Author

Journalist and sport content specialist, who is also editor of Love Rugby League. Formerly ran the official website of the Carling Cup, as well as operating a digital services business in Warrington.

Leave A Comment